Sunday Ippudo Ramen 03/17

Sunday’s are the best day to relax at home and make a broth. Christine sent me this link http://norecipes.com/blog/tonkotsu-ramen-recipe/ as I’ve made Momofuku ramen before. My understanding of ramen is that it’s a four step process: develop flavors from bones, flavors from vegetables, season the broth, and toppings (including meat). You can find the ingredients and steps on the link. This post won’t be a detailed breakdown of all the steps. I’ll quickly go over the good and the bad and then let you enjoy the food pictures. 

One of my favorite parts of the meal was the 6-minute marinated egghttp://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2012/03/ajitsuke-tamago-japanese-marinated-soft-boiled-egg-recipe.html. Boil an egg for 6-minutes and then marinate it in a bowl with soy sauce, miring, sugar, and sake. It makes for a slightly sweet egg with a beautiful dark exterior. 

The homemade noodles actually turned out nice: http://norecipes.com/blog/homemade-ramen-noodle-recipe/. After mixing the dough for ten minutes, and trying to mold the crumbs into a ball, I really thought that this would fail. The dough was brittle and falling apart all the time. It took a lot of passes through the pasta roller and folding it in half before it looked like a pasta sheet. I’ll have to practice making this on its own (and preferably) the day before as a lot of the dough just crumbled apart. I only made enough for one batch of ramen and it took me about 30 minutes of rolling. 

The pork cheeks were delicious: http://norecipes.com/blog/japanese-chashu-recipe/#sthash.FEUDIilF.dpbs. From now on I am never buying pork belly if I can get pork cheeks instead. They are nicely marbled and almost impossible to screw up. Boil in flavored broth for 1h and you’re done. They are so versatile as any leftovers can be fried on a cast-iron pan in a stir-fry (next post!).

Mistakes: I’m not sure why but I’m going to let my pressure cooker cool down slowly next time. When I released the pressure all the white yummy collagen slowly shot out of the top and sprayed my kitchen with snowy white collagen everywhere. I also should season the broth more. 

 

Here are the pictures. Enjoy!

P1000724

1.5 lbs of pigs feet, 1.5 lbs of pork leg bones (marrow), and 1.5 lbs chicken bones. I got these from a chinese supermarket on Clement street. They have pork cheeks as well. 

 

P1000730

Pork Cheeks in water, sugar, miring, sake, soy sauce for 1h.

 

P1000734

Boil bones in pressure cooker and dump the water. Repeat 3 times. 

 

P1000737

Fry garlic and ginger until brown. These get added to the pork bones right before you put on the pressure cooker lid.

 

P1000745

Cooked pork cheeks

 

P1000758

Corn

 

P1000761

Homemade noodles

 

P1000765

Grated garlic cooked in sesame oil until black. Puree it for a burnt and bitter sesame taste. 

 

P1000768

Sliced pork cheek

 

P1000770

scallions and wood ear mushroom

 

P1000771

6-minute marinated egg

 

P1000773

Cook the noodles in the broth, and then add the toppings:

bean sprouts, nori, corn, scallions, shiso leaves, cut the egg in half (next time I’ll take a side shot of the eggs). The yolk is still creamy!

P1000775

 

P1000774

Overall I’d give this a 6/10. I think if the broth was seasoned correctly and I didn’t lose all that beautiful white collagen from the pig’s feet this would have been 8/10

Leave a Reply

